Musings

2017: A Hopeful Year?

Happy New Year, everyone!

2017 is finally here and I couldn’t be happier. I don’t know about you guys but my 2016 sucked. It was pretty awful for most people. Unless it wasn’t. If that’s the case, congratulations. And I don’t mean that sarcastically. It’s hard to tell in the written medium, but I’m truly glad that some of your 2016s didn’t suck and I wish you all the more luck in the new year.

I kind of straddle the line between optimism and an impending sense of doom for this new year. New years are supposed to represent a time of fresh starts and  hopes for the future. We dutifully note our resolutions; shooing away past behavior and events to the year behind us. But I have to be honest: even as I swap one calendar for another, not much has changed in my life. Many of the the things that made 2016 awful still exist with me in 2017. Fears and uncertainties that haunted me throughout last year will undoubtedly creep up on me in 2017.Perhaps even more so.

Despite all this, I still figure if I could do nothing else I can bring a different attitude. I tend to kick myself when things don’t go as I originally envision and kick myself more when I start complaining about it. I would like to plant that metaphorical leg on the ground and give myself a break. I want to be kinder to myself in this coming year and not get caught up in the whirlwinds of life that are sure to come my way. 2017 should be a year marked by kindness and a steadfastness to goals despite the hurdles.

So, I want to know: What are your goals for the new year? What are your resolutions? What do you look forward to in the new year?

Leave a Reply

