book reviews

Book Review: Throne of Glass

51AB5fix3UL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Rating: 9.5/10

Goodreads Summary

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

I have to admit that when I first picked up Sara J. Maas’ Throne of Glass in my local Barnes & Noble, I didn’t rightly know what to expect from it. I heard the hype on tumblr but my motivation for buying it more stemmed from my desire of finding a good high fantasy book. With this in mind, I purchased it without hesitation.

I don’t know what else I can say about Throne of Glass that hasn’t been said already. It’s an amazing book!

After reading it, I find that it’s so much more than a high fantasy book. It’s the first series title in a long time that made me want to continue the series. Only Harry Potter claimed that title for me before this point (which is sad, I know). The book has great characters. I immediately loved Celaena and grew to love her more as the story went on. She is a very well written female character. I found it refreshing to find a character whose badass traits were really well balanced with her more vulnerable ones. To be honest, I loved each character in the book. They were all really well written. Even though I didn’t know why certain characters were given so much attention in the beginning, they’re importance was clear at the end and they all proved to be really well rounded. My favorite character beside Celaena were Chaol, Dorian, and Nehemia.

The book also had some really nice imagery. My breath was taken away when reading some of the passages describing the Glass Palace. Sara Maas weaves the world with such intricate beauty. I simply couldn’t get enough. I also admire her talent for giving us the basic facts about the world without some major info dump. It all read quite naturally.

My only major complaints with the book deals with certain elements of the plot. The competition was not as important as I thought it was going to be in the narrative. The finale was all that mattered so other such trials were only given a sentence or two of mentions. The reason for this was because the outcome was treated as such a sure thing. I didn’t particularly mind this too much but I couldn’t help but question why we weren’t seeing a bit more of it. Then again, I did really like that a good portion of the story was instead dedicated on building up the relationship between the characters and royal intrigue. Another slight issue was that I predicted the ultimate culprit behind the mysterious happenings in the book. The book tried to convince me it was actually so-and-so but in actuality it was that person. By the time we got there I couldn’t help but think, “Well of course it was that person! How could you possibly think it was that other person?!”

Overall though, this was an amazing read. I plan on reading the rest of the series. I suggest that you should read this book for those who haven’t done so yet. This goes doubly for those of you who love fantasy books.

Leave a Reply

